I only sleep once every 2.5 to 3 days

My sleep cycle is (roughly) 56-72 hours awake, followed by 4-6 hours of sleep, after which I am fully rested. I’ve had this sleep pattern at least since I was 13.

Did we ever discover whether this person is real? It is still incredibly important.

I’d go through 15-20 big books a week at that age, a habit that continued and all the way till I started working full-time. Right around that time (early to mid '90s), the Internet as we know it came into being. These days, I spend most of my nights studying and learning new things, primarily via the Internet rather than through printed books.

More. I score in the 99.999th percentile on standardized IQ tests, FWIW. I was accelerated by 5 grades in early grade school (jumped from K to 5), and later started college while concurrently enrolled in high school. I majored in math & physics, and ended up teaching a lot of the classes, rather than taking them - as they were not very challenging. I’m a top exec in a large global tech consulting business, where I earn a high six-figure income, without working very hard at it. I meet a lot of exceptional people in this career, and even still, the consensus opinion I get from others is I’m nearly always the smartest guy in the room. I’ve met my match a few times over the years, but it’s a relatively rare event, and always awesome.

Also I’d be happy to complete any clinically relevant assessments, screenings, diagnostic instruments, clinical interviews, or labs (cost permitting) that any clinical professionals or researchers might be interested in conducting or reviewing.

It’s not a choice, it’s just how I’m built. Most people seem to be built for a 16/8 sleep cycle or an 18/6, some outliers have 20/4, and a few freaks can do all nighters on a regular basis. I’ve yet to meet someone else like me that goes 3 days at a time, then sleeps.

I guess I personally have adjusted to find these stories less interesting for a couple of reasons